Connectivism – Learning in the Digital Age

This is presentation I created based on one made by George Siemens  in 2006 and other podcasts, articles by Siemens, Stephen Downes and others. This is presentation will be given at the 11th Braz TESOL National Convetion in Fortaleza . I am a psychologist that  became and EFL teacher. As a psychologist and a teacher, the learning process has always attracted me. I always like to think about what is inside the black box. I have always enjoyed going beyond warm ups and cool downs and thinking about how learning happens.  So, I was amazed and fascinated the first time I heard George Siemens speaking about connectvism in his onthologic presentation (and still like to listening to it while driving on my car radio). In my opinion, this theory makes a lot of sense when it tries to explain the way people learn.

The idea of learning/knowledge  not residing in one place and being distributed across our social networks and our brains is especially perceptible for those involved in online e-learning communities of practice. In these environments we perceive the notion of knowledge being distributed across a network. We live and have lived in a networked world. Networks have always existed. They are just more prominent now with the widespread use of computers. Hope you enjoy the presentation.

4 thoughts on “Connectivism – Learning in the Digital Age

  1. Lucia Bodeman says:

    Excellent presentation on Connectivism, José Antonio!!! What you say about the rise of the individual is quite a challenge to many FL/SL contexts because while it is great that everyone is now able to publish thoughts and ideas, learners still need to be aware of the responsibility that this brings on and critically select what will be posted (and more important WHY). Just sharing thoughts… 🙂

  2. Hi Lucia,

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I agree with you that the rise of the individual is a powerful thing. What you mentined about the resposibilities learner should be aware of is important and reminds us teachers of our roles. One thing I always do with my students when instructing them to post on blogs, is to tell them that the web is a public space and they should monitor their language and be nice to everyone.

    Kind regards
    José Antônio

  3. Gladys Baya says:

    Hi José Antonio!

    Came across your blog googling for info on CoP (actually, that got me to another post of yours, and then I followed the link here). Though I’m not a psychologist myself, I’ve always been deeply interested in educational psychology… Can you tell me who’s known as “the father” of connectivism? And can we somehow relate it to Vygotski’s social interactionism? (I’m familiar with socio-constructivism)… Just let me know if I’m making far-fetched relationships, as I’ve said it’s not really my area!
    LOL,
    Gladys

  4. Hello Gladdys,
    I am so glade to read your comment here and knowing the path that took you here.
    Answering to your questions with the little I know. The proponent of Connectivism is George Siemens. I would call him (Siemens) the father of Connectivism . I don´t know if he would agree with that. Connectivism is still a nascent theory of learning and many people do not agree with it. There will be an online course in Connectivism starting in September given by Siemens himself and Stephen Downes (a philosopher that talks about connective knowledge).
    http://ltc.umanitoba.ca:83/wiki/Connectivism If you want to join in, it will be great to meet you there. Bee and some other webheads will also take this course.
    It can relate to Vitgotsky’s interactionism somehow, but it goes beyond in saying that learning is in the connections, it is a property of connections. Other learning theories situate learning inside the individual somehow. Siemens argues that learning can also reside inside our neural networks, social networks, and machines.
    I think it is a fascinating theory and breaks down with the predicatability and linearity of learning models.
    Hugs
    I hope I partially answered your questions.
    JA

Leave a Reply

