My PLE (E for Experience and Environment)

What motivated me to present on PLEs was my experience with e-learning. I first heard the term on Teemu Arina´s magnificent presentation Serendipity 2.0 and saw that it had something to do with the way I had been learning for the past two and a half years. While reading for this presentation, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that PLEs are not a tool or an aggregator, but a way of aggregating learning, a way of morphing the tools, people, machines around your own personal learning. So, PLEs are defined largely by the learner and his learning goals.

The idea of PLEs, as I see it, is connected with mobile learning. However, we have to be careful not to connect the idea of mobile learning and PLEs with expensive technological devices. Mobile Learning is a combination of two words and both of them should be given equal weight. Mobile learning, if the second word of the expression is given its value, refers more to the learner than to the device or technology. Mobile learning has to do with being able to learn anytime and anywhere.

4 thoughts on “My PLE (E for Experience and Environment)

  1. JA,
    I agree with you 200%!
    Lately I’ve been listening to people talking about PLEs (it has become a fashionable term here in Europe and is sometimes misinterpreted…just like CoPs…), and the idea I have is that when people talk about PLE they immediately think of a tool, a piece of software. For me, on the other hand, that is the least of my concerns.
    My PLE has to reflect mE: where I am presently learning, what I am learning and whom I am learning with.
    I like the idea of “morphing the tools” – they will adapt to my learning style and not the other way around. 🙂
    Mobiles are definitely entering my PLE heavily, but many other environments are also part of it. Yet they are not all necessarily directly represented in my PLE because they happen while onsite…. there are f2f contexts which I miss to bring online…most times for lack of time!
    But is one’s PLE only restricted to online interaction and e-learning?
    Nevertheless most of my learning does happen in cyberworld, because it is here where I have found more minds who think alike and with whom learning has become a rather fun practice… to which I have become quite addictive. 😉
    Thanks for the great presentation!

  2. Hello Cristina,
    Thanks for your comment and for adding so much to the idea of a PLE. You absolutely right, PLEs are first of all personal.
    Concerning your question, it is great that you asked. PLEs are not in anyway restricted to online interaction or web tools. I have a f2f study group with a friend that is also part of my PLE, books are also part of it, courses I have taken, and so on. PLEs presupose a whole learning ecology.
    Hugs
    JA

  3. goallyes says:

    woman apple dog we water glass site woman no free night stone

  4. yespetscanad says:

    site apple woman red black black apple canada trust sea

Leave a Reply

